Key visual released for movie adaptation of Project Itoh’s Harmony

A new key visual for Harmony, the second of three movies being adapted from Project Itoh novels, has been revealed from the Guilty Crown illustrator redjuice as the film approaches its Japanese release date of November 13th.

Directed by Takashi Nakamura of Fantastic Children and Michael Arias of Tekkonkinkreet, with animation by Studio 4°C, Takahiro Tanaka is in charge of character design and based his work for the movie on redjuice’s illustrations.

Harmony movie redjuice visual

Harmony was the final novel by Satoshi Itō, who used Project Itoh as his pen name, before he passed away from cancer in 2009. The original work won the Seiun Award that year, while its English translation won a special citation Phillip K. Dick Award in 2010. This adaptation follows The Empire of Corpses, which opened in Japan on October 2nd, and the movie of his debut novel Genocidal Organ was supposed to be next up. But as Shukou Murase from Manglobe was directing, its original release date of November 13th was delayed after the studio filed for bankruptcy, and as yet the new release date hasn’t been announced.

Project Itoh movies

Viz Media’s Haikasoru imprint, which has published all of Itoh’s novels in English except for The Empire of Corpses, describes the plot of Harmony‘s original novel:

In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn’t that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and super-medicine by attempting suicide via starvation. It doesn’t work, but one of the girls—Tuan Kirie—grows up to be a member of the World Health Organization. As a crisis threatens the Harmony of the new world, Tuan rediscovers another member of her suicide pact, and together they must help save the planet…from itself.

The official YouTube of Noitamina’s Fuji TV programming block uploaded a new promo video for Harmony on Sunday, which features the theme song ‘Ghost of a smile’ by EGOIST, and introduces the cast and the characters they portray, including:

Miyuki Sawashiro as Tuan Kirie
Yoshiko Sakakibara as Oscar Stauffenberg
Shinichiro Miki as Elliya Vashirof
Akio Ohtsuka as Asaf
Aya Suzaki as Cian Reikado
Cho as Keita Saeki
Junpei Morita as Nuaza Kirie
Reina Ueda as Miach Mihie

Source: Cinema Café via Crunchyroll

About Elisabeth (1360 Articles)
Otaku blogger, mum and hyper-pixie of the cosmic realms. Might have made that last part up. Or did I?

Leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: