The Asahi Shimbun newspaper has announced the seven nominees for the 20th Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize. The ceremony celebrates and commemorates the work of Osamu Tezuka, the manga hero known for creating Astro Boy/Mighty Atom, Kimba the White Lion/Jungle Emperor, Phoenix and Black Jack, as well as the new works that follow in his daring and revolutionary tradition. These top seven titles were selected by the awards’ committee from the recommendations of specialists and bookstore employees, and of all the suggestions put forward, the first nominee shown below received the most overall.

Ichigo Takano’s Orange, published by Futabasha
Satoru Noda’s Golden Kamuy, published by Shueisha
Masayuki Kusumi and Jiro Taniguchi’s Kodoku no Gourmet, published by Fusosha

Yuki Suetsugu’s Chihayafuru, published by Kodansha.
Kan Takahama’s Cho-no-Michiyuki, published by Leed Publishing
Kei Ichinoseki’s Hanagami Sharaku, published by Shogakukan
Kiyohiko Azuma’s Yotsuba&!, published by MediaWorks

The winners will be announced in Asahi Shimbun in early April, and the awards ceremony will follow on May 29th.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Notify of