Manga Grand Prix winners announced in 20th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize

Today, the Asahi Shimbun newspaper has announced the winners of the 20th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize awards, and the Manga Grand Prix reveal has turned out to break new ground. For the first time, the nominating committee chose two winners for the 2 million yen prize and Astro Boy statuette, so Kei Ichinoseki’s kabuki mystery Hanagami Sharaku and Kiyohiko Azuma’s slice-of-life comedy Yotsuba&! will split the prize money between them.

The nominating committee for this year includes novelist Atsuko Asano, actress Anne, manga creator Machiko Satonaka, university professor Shohei Chujo, manga editor Haruyuki Nakano, manga commentator Shinbo Nobunaga, manga creator and researcher Taro Minamoto, and manga researcher Tomoko Yamada. This group selected the winners from the seven Grand Prix nominees, which were in turn chosen from works published between January and December 2015, and their awards will be presented at the May 29th ceremony.


About Elisabeth (1360 Articles)
Otaku blogger, mum and hyper-pixie of the cosmic realms. Might have made that last part up. Or did I?

Leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: